We've got news for you.

Register on DispatchLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Donald Trump's new US travel ban could include more African countries

US president Donald Trump.
US president Donald Trump.
Image: REUTERS/Jonathan Ernst

US president Donald Trump confirmed that he plans to extend the US travel ban that bars immigrants from several countries from entering the territory.

According to BBC, Belarus, Myanmar, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania are on the preliminary list of possible countries set to have restricted access to the US.

The countries on the expanded list join Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, Venezuela and North Korea.

The 2017 travel ban contained mostly Muslim-majority countries without diplomatic ties to the US, but the proposed extended list includes nations such as Nigeria, which have relationships with the US.


Would you like to comment on this article?
Register (it's quick and free) or sign in now.

Speech Bubbles

Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Commenting is subject to our house rules.