Night belongs to the brightest stars

race track
race track
Border athletics held a special awards evening this past Friday night at Oxford Striders in Nahoon to acknowledge the effort of the region’s outstanding performers of the past few years.

This awards evening is set to become an annual thing going forward and will look to recognise even more athletes in the coming years.

“This is the start of a new venture for Border, that is still in its infant phase but will start to grow bigger and better as we continue over the next few years,” said president of Border athletics Daan Louw.

“We must acknowledge what these athletes have done and it will be motivation for other athletes to do better so that they can also try to be recognised at these awards.

“This will be a yearly thing with more acknowledgements from next year.”

On the night not all of the athletes were able to be in attendance, but the most recognisable name was local marathon star Lusapho April who along with Tiny Majembe and Xoliswa Bici, were awarded for their performances on the international stage.

Current Border long-distance running star Stephanie Smith was awarded for her superb feat of picking up gold medals in both the Comrades and Two Oceans Marathons earlier this year, where she placed in the top 10 of both races.

Provincial colours were then awarded to Makaya Masumpa, Luthando Hejana, Lukhanyo Ngxoko, Bulelani Mgubo, Masivuye Poswa and Michelle Conroy for their exploits on the provincial and national stage.

Hanlie Botha, Sharon Eldridge, Colin Bosch and Nkosana Mpolweni were then awarded for various achievements over a number of years.

The final awards then went to Tony Viljoen, Jannie Breed and Trevor Gee for their exceptional service to running over many years.

“These athletes have been the best on the Border for the last few years, they have shown dedication and impressive form over many years and fully deserve this acknowledgement,” explained Louw.

The next special awards evening will take place next year, where even more athletes are expected to be honoured.

Please sign in or register to comment.