New EC ANC leadership reflects a shake up

TWO MECs, a deputy minister, a union leader and a mayor have made it into the newly elected Eastern Cape ANC provincial leadership.

This was after The Elexions Agency finalised the list of additional members of the Oscar Mabuyane-led PEC during the early hours of yesterday morning.

Topping the list with 567 votes was the provincial chairman of the ANC Women’s League, Bulelwa Fanta.

Transport and safety MEC Weziwe Tikana and her sports counterpart, Pemmy Majodina, got the nod, while deputy communications minister Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams received the seventh most votes.

The gender-balanced list, which will see the 30-member PEC (minus the top five) having 50/50 men and women, also includes several union provincial leaders, including Cosatu’s Xolani Malamlela and Nonceba Khontsiwe.

Premier Phumulo Masualle’s comrades in the South African Communist Party, Xolile Nqatha and Zukiswa Ncitha, secured comfortable support to be included in the executive.

Several senior councillors, including OR Tambo district mayor Nomakhosazana Meth, Buffalo City deputy mayor Zoliswa Matana as well as councillor Sindiswa Gomba were also elected into the PEC.

Former Nelson Mandela Bay regional secretary Zandisile Qupe, Priscilla Mantashe, Mncedisi Nontsele, Fikile Desi, Mary-Ann Dunjwa, Loyiso Magqashela, William Ngozi and Fundile Gade were also elected.

Some of those out in the cold include former provincial spokesman Mlibo Qoboshiyane and Andile Lungisa.

Several senior politicians, including social development MEC Nancy Sihlwayi, also failed to make the cut after they marched out of the ICC shortly before the election.

The conference saw at least eight ANC delegates injured after delegates threw empty water bottles and chairs, creating chaos in the early hours of last Sunday morning. The rival groups were fighting over credentials to attend the conference.

Two other surprising personalities to return to Calata House, the party’s provincial headquarters in King William’s Town, were former ANC Youth League provincial leaders Mziwonke Ndabeni and Thabo Matiwane.

Ndabeni surprised many when his supporters within the ANCYL task team in Dr WB Rubusana went against the league’s provincial executive committee decision of supporting Masualle – and came out in support of Mabuyane.

The conference outcomes saw an anti-Mabuyane group going to the East London High Court yesterday to try and interdict the conference, which ended on Sunday. The matter was dismissed with costs on the basis that it was not urgent.

Speaking to the media yesterday after the court case, newly re-elected deputy provincial secretary Helen Sauls-August confirmed the election of the 30 election leaders, saying The Elexions Agency had officially handed over the list of elected additional PEC members.

The executive has Mabuyane, his deputy Mlungisi Mvoko, provincial secretary Lulama Ngcukaitobi, Sauls-August, as well as treasurer Babalo Madikizela. —



Have your say