EFF shows five Eastern Cape councillors door

The EFF fired five of its Eastern Cape councillors and replaced them with new ones on Tuesday night.

This follows a party decision taken after the August 2016 local government elections that any EFF candidate who failed to garner at least 100 votes for the party in their ward, and had been elected through the proportional representation (PR) system, would resign from their councils.

Four such PR councillors were in office in the Eastern Cape’s Senqu municipality (Lady Grey), Ndlambe (Port Alfred), Enoch Mgijima (Komani) and Intsika Yethu (Cofimvaba).

The party said the fifth councillor was fired for the non-performance of his duties.

Eastern Cape EFF convener Yazini Tetyana said that following the resolution of the central command team, the councillors were ordered to resign. Tetyana said: “The following proportional representative councillors were directed as per the resolution to resign and they refused. The party instituted a disciplinary process which found three guilty while another one is still in [process],” said Tetyana.

The councillors recalled early last month were: Amanda Kupa (Intsika Yethu), Thuliswa Cothi (Enoch Mgijima), Nkosibonile Ndawule (Senqu) and Linda Shahaadz (Ndlambe).

The new councillors are: Zoleka Qotoyo (Intsika Yethu), Zikhona Njoli (Enoch Mgijima) and Bobby Moeketsi in Senqu. The new councillor for Ndlambe has yet to be announced.

The fifth to go, Sakhile Kula, was expelled for failing to do organisational work at Enoch Mgijima, according to Tetyana. He was replaced by Bongani Mtini.


  1. This is just the beginning. Everywhere else the EFF will suffer the same as JSM will make sure he opens space for his pals. Eff is dying and I’m happy